Skip to main content

About the HLC

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is WVU’s institutional accreditor and one of six regional accreditors in the United States.

The HLC grants institutional accreditation. It assesses all aspects of a university, including:

  • Educational activities
  • Governance and administration
  • Financial stability
  • Student services
  • Student academic achievement
  • Organizational effectiveness
  • Relationships with outside constituencies

The HLC accredits universities and colleges in 18 other states (Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and Wyoming).

The Council for Higher Education Accreditation recognizes, or accredits, the HLC.